Articles and Essays

The Sears Racket,” for Hmm Daily, 12.7.2018

Sheryl Sandberg Needs to Log Off,” for Truthdig, 11.04.2018

The Egregious Lies Americans Tell Themselves,” for Truthdig, 11.15.2018

They Are Coming for the Jews,” for Truthdig, 11.02.2018

We Don’t Have Time for Nihilism,” for Jacobin, 10.30.19

As Pittsburgh Jews, We Will Mourn Our Dead by Mobilizing for Refugees,” for Haaretz, 10.29.2018

Optimize Your Repression,” for Hmm Daily, 10.25.2018

Elizabeth Warren’s DNA Debacle Bodes Ill for All of Us,” for Truthdig, 10.17.18

The Shameless Opportunism of Nikki Haley,” for Truthdig, 10.10.18

The Liberal Rehabilitation of George W. Bush Is Complete,” for Truthdig, 9.14.18

A Homeland in America,” for The New Republic, 9.6.18

Contemporary Liberalism’s Worst Idea Yet,” for Truthdig, 9.4.18

Capitalism Is Beyond Saving, and America Is Living Proof,” for Truthdig, 8.31.18

Don’t Count on History to Judge Wisely,” for the New Republic, 6.27.18

Like a Dog,” for The New Inquiry, 4.9.18 (and in Portuguese, “Cães são Shakespearianos,” for Epoca, 5.12.18)

Why Are Major Newspapers and Magazines Hiring So Many Right-Wing Cranks?,” for Alternet, 3.30.18

America’s Gun Sickness Goes Way Beyond Guns,” for the New Republic, 2.23.18

Neoconservatives Like Max Boot Are the Last People We Should Listen to About Russia,” for Alternet. 2.21.18

The Right’s Favorite New Intellectual Has Some Truly Pitiable Ideas About Masculinity,” for Alternet, 2.13.18

The Uncomfortable Truth About Whole Foods and Amazon’s Grocery Monopoly,” for Alternet, 1.29.18

America’s Imperial Decline Might Be Our Last, Best Hope to Salvage Our Democracy,” for Alternet, 12.29.17

The Usual Suspects” for The Baffler, 11.7.17

Joan Didion Is the Best Thing About Joan Didion: The Center Will Not Hold” for the New Republic, 10.27.17

Now It’s a Crisis? Israel Lost This American Jew a Long Time Ago,” for Haaretz, 6.28.17

The Democratic Party Is a Ghost,” for Jacobin. 5.15.17

Why Are Jews Rehabilitating Jew-killing Fascists to Defend Sebastian Gorka?” for Haaretz, 4.27.17

Beyond the Alps,” for The Paris Review, 4.10.17

Trump’s Israel Trip Was One Big Gaslighting Charade” for Haaretz, 3.24.17

An interview with WESA FM on my novel, The Doorposts of Your House and On Your Gates, 3.17.17

The Madness of King Donald” for the New Republic, 2.20.17

Who Lost the White House” for The Concourse, 11.29.16

I Was a Teenage Nazi Wannabe” for the New Republic, 11.23.16

An interview with WNYC’s On the Media about “When Forgetting is the Proper Response to Terror,” 6.17.16

When Forgetting is the Proper Response to Terror” for the New Republic, 6.13.16

Jews for Bernie: Don’t Give In to Fear” for Haaretz, 5.23.16

Bernie Backs Jewish Values Millennials Believe In” for Haaretz, 4.14.16

Ayn Rand Made Me a Communist” for the New Republic, 1.27.16

Stop Immediately Linking Violence to the Perpetrator’s Beliefs” for The Intercept, 12.1.15

Review of Multiply Divide by Wendy Walters for The Rumpus, 10.13.15

Ben Carson is Wrong about the Holocaust” for the New Republic, 10.9.15

Review of The Argonauts by Maggie Nelson for The Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, 7.12.15

Review of The Drone Eats with Me by Atu Abu Saif for The Rumpus 6.4.15

Review of The American People by Larry Kramer for The Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, 4.12.15

Review of Indigo by Clemens J. Setz for The Rumpus, 1.22.15

Review of Thrown by Kerry Howley for The Rumpus, 11.4.14

Review of Ian McEwan’s The Children Act for the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, 9.28.14

Review of James Ellroy’s Perfidia for the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, 9.7.14

“The Last Book I Loved: Human Wishes/Enemy Combatant at The Rumpus, 7.12.14

Review of Thomas Sweterlitsch’s Tomorrow and Tomorrow for the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, 7.6.14

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s